Vigil Honor Recipients

In 1946, after existing for eight years, Illinek lodge inducted our first members to the Vigil Honor. In August of that year, members of our lodge attended the National Lodge Meeting (forerunner of the NOAC meetings) at Chanute Field near Rantoul, Illinois. One of the highlights of that gathering was the induction of twenty-eight men at a special Vigil ceremony. Two Arrowmen from Illinek Lodge were amoung this select group; E. D. Dryfoose and Garth W. Hoffmann.

TheVigil Honor is the highest honor that the local lodge can bestow upon a member. It is granted to a maximum of one candidate for every fifty members of the lodge in any given year – frequently less – and then only after approval of the National Office. A candidate must have been a Brotherhood at least two years and have demonstrated distinguished service above and beyond their immediate position. This is in recognition for service to the local lodge, the Order of the Arrow beyond the local lodge, the Scouting program and / or the Scout camp.

The following individuals, having demonstrated distinguished service, have been inducted as Vigil Honor members of Illinek Lodge. The list is based on extensive research by the National Office, but it may not be complete or may contain inaccurate information. If you have records or documents that can help fill in the gaps please contact us.

Vigil Honors Award Recipient List